Review: Miracle Creek

Review by: Amy H.

This book launches April 16th! Please contact sales@caprichosbooks.com to preorder.

The book follows several families during a court trial. The story centers around the murder and arson trial. The mother of one of the patients undergoing treatments in a hyperbaric chamber is accused of setting fire to the chamber and the explosion kills her son and others. As the trial unfolds questions emerge about what exactly happened and is the right person on trial. Secrets are uncovered, dreams shattered and an entire community begins to question everything.

The information about the hyperbaric chamber to treat children and others with mental and physical disorders is interesting. Finding a book with a new idea to center a mystery and conflict around is tough. The author achieved it in this book. I didn’t know what was going to happen in the end although I wasn’t exactly surprised. The author did a great job exploring the honest and not always pleasant thoughts of her characters. Fans of Jodi Picoult and Chris Bohjalin will really enjoy this novel.

Continue Reading →

On the road

You know that we have to stop at bookstores on the way to anywhere. So our first spot this time is Wellington Square Bookshop, Cafe and Emporium.

The bookseller there, Mike, was so helpful. We got drinks, one of which was the most amazing hot cocoa warmed to the exact right temperature. There was so much to take in, from the diverse selection of titles to the details of the coffee bar and room dividers/door frames. They have new titles as well as a unique collection of antique and rare titles. Mike gave us a tour and shared some other stores he suggested we check out.

We each picked out a book (I’ll share our haul in another post) and hit the road. On to the next shop.

Kid review: It was beautiful. They have flipbooks and bookmarks.

Jeff review: Nice cozy atmosphere with customers reading in every corner. Coffee and snacks delivered to you while you read.

Continue Reading →

SO EXCITED!

May 29-31

I just got the email! I were selected for a $1,000 grant to attend the BookExpo in NYC at the end of May. I know several other booksellers who speak highly of this event and all the knowledge they bring home. I am honored to have been selected and I cannot wait to share with you everything I learn (not to mention the goodies!)

This event is followed by the BookCon but it’s already making my head spin thinking of all the seminars and presentations to choose from!

Don’t forget- the store is closed on Sundays in April including tomorrow, but I promise-it’s just because I’m working to make this shop incredible and bring you the best.

Continue Reading →