Homeschool Book Sale!

We heard the request so we are working on it! Many homeschoolers have asked if we can consign or sell their books for them. Unfortunately, that’s not something we can do at this time but we thought we would help organize a yard sale/swap meet style event for homeschoolers.

If you’re interested in being a vendor (no charge for table space) please fill out this form- https://forms.gle/mNhzGGDzS7R2MfxJ6

Continue Reading →

Author Visit

Today Mikita Brottman, Author of An Unexplained Death: The True Story of a Body at the Belvedere joined us for a private meeting with our Well Read= Not Dead Book Club at AleCraft. She brought her dog, Oliver, who is mentioned in the book.

This books is a wonderfully written web of conspiracy theories, history and seemingly unrelated dark tangents that really come together as part auto-biography part investigation report. The author was delightful to have at our private meeting, offering further insight into the tangents and helping us understand her own perspective.

Well-Read = Not Dead Book Club with Author Mikita Brottman

Later that afternoon the author joined us at the store to connect with people who had read the book and those who were interested in the story. We had 9 people in attendance. Ms. Brottman read a chapter from her book, then discussed it a bit and opened the floor to questions. Several people had great thoughts to share.

Thanks to everyone who joined us and we hope to have Mikita back in the future.

Now in stock we have several other titles written by Mikita including The Maximum Security Book Club, Solitary Vice, The Great Grisby and High Theory/Low Culture and of course there are still some copies of An Unexplained Death.

Continue Reading →

Review: Black Death at the Golden Gate; The Race to Save America from the Bubonic Plauge by David K. Randall

Review by Amy H.

Overall this book was rated a 7/10

Summary:
A detailed account of the bubonic plague outbreak in California during the early 1900’s. Includes a history of the public health of the United States, political cover ups and early bacteriology.

Review: Very well written with very detailed explanations of the plague and the country’s response. Written for the general reader to understand. Sometimes reads like a good mystery rather than a non fiction book. As I read the book it was interesting to note that the United States response to unfavorable circumstances has remained almost unchanged. The political world sought to cover up the possibility of the plague spreading throughout California just as it directs attention away from certain current day issues. Anyone interested in medical mysteries or a general US history interest will enjoy this read.

Continue Reading →

Review: Lost Roses by Marth Hall Kelly

Review by Karen B.

Overall this book got an 8/10

Lost Roses is the Sequel to Lilac Girls

Summary:
Lost Roses by Martha Hall Kelly takes place in the years just before, during and after World War I. The book follows 3 women- Eliza, a New York heiress, Sofya a cousin of Tsar Nicholas II and Varinka a Russian peasant. Friends Eliza and Sofya are in St Petersburg just before the war breaks out. When Eliza leaves to return to New York Sofya and her family are unable to leave Russia and are forced to retreat to their country home outside St Petersburg. While there Sofya hires Varinka to work for the family and care for her young son, Max, a decision that has unforeseen consequences. Meanwhile, Eliza works in New York to assist Russian’s who have managed to escape the war torn country. When all contact with Sofya stops, Eliza is worried for her safety and works to uncover the mystery of what happened to Sofya and her family. Lost Roses travels from the court of Tsar Nicholas II to the wilderness of the Russian forests and from New York society to the streets of Paris. Eliza, Sofya and Varinka all deal with personal challenges, difficult decisions and heartbreak as they face the many casualties of war and find their lives intertwining in unexpected ways.

Review:
Lost Roses is the story of 3 young women during World War I. It is a prequel to Lilac Girls and is the story of Eliza Ferriday, the mother of Caroline, a character in Lilac Girls. The other 2 main characters are Sofya, a relative of the Tsar, and Varinka, a young Russian peasant girl. Lost Roses was slow to get started as each of the 3 characters’ stories are developed. However once the story starts to unfold it was a quick read. The book has a strong sense of place that contributes to each of the 3 main story lines. The setting includes the Russian royal court, Southampton and the streets of New York and Paris. This book would be perfect for fans of historical fiction and of course for the many readers who loved Lilac Girls.

Continue Reading →

Second stop

Last month we took little tour up north and Star Books was our second stop and Jody (I’m hoping I remember your name right but now I’m second guessing myself) greeted us with a nice smile and lots of help and suggestions.

I didn’t get many photos but this shop is definitely worth visiting. Shelves are neat and there are quite a few of them- the last picture only shows bout 1/3rd of their store front. They’ve got these magnificent cards to help customers find new authors they might like. I’m looking forward to visiting them again in the future!

Continue Reading →

Review: Miracle Creek

Review by: Amy H.

This book launches April 16th! Please contact sales@caprichosbooks.com to preorder.

The book follows several families during a court trial. The story centers around the murder and arson trial. The mother of one of the patients undergoing treatments in a hyperbaric chamber is accused of setting fire to the chamber and the explosion kills her son and others. As the trial unfolds questions emerge about what exactly happened and is the right person on trial. Secrets are uncovered, dreams shattered and an entire community begins to question everything.

The information about the hyperbaric chamber to treat children and others with mental and physical disorders is interesting. Finding a book with a new idea to center a mystery and conflict around is tough. The author achieved it in this book. I didn’t know what was going to happen in the end although I wasn’t exactly surprised. The author did a great job exploring the honest and not always pleasant thoughts of her characters. Fans of Jodi Picoult and Chris Bohjalin will really enjoy this novel.

Continue Reading →

On the road

You know that we have to stop at bookstores on the way to anywhere. So our first spot this time is Wellington Square Bookshop, Cafe and Emporium.

The bookseller there, Mike, was so helpful. We got drinks, one of which was the most amazing hot cocoa warmed to the exact right temperature. There was so much to take in, from the diverse selection of titles to the details of the coffee bar and room dividers/door frames. They have new titles as well as a unique collection of antique and rare titles. Mike gave us a tour and shared some other stores he suggested we check out.

We each picked out a book (I’ll share our haul in another post) and hit the road. On to the next shop.

Kid review: It was beautiful. They have flipbooks and bookmarks.

Jeff review: Nice cozy atmosphere with customers reading in every corner. Coffee and snacks delivered to you while you read.

Continue Reading →